DYMAT 2018


Gordon R. Johnson
Winner of the DYMAT 2018 John Rinehart Award

Gordon Johnson is a Program Director at Southwest Research Institute (SwRI) in Minneapolis, MN, USA. He began his career at Honeywell and Alliant Techsystems in 1966, moved to Network Computing Services in 2001 where he was involved with the U.S. Army High Performance Computing Research Center at the University of Minnesota, and then joined SwRI in 2007. He received a BS (1964), MSCE (1966) and PhD (1974) in Civil Engineering and Structures from the University of Minnesota.
He began development of the EPIC (Elastic-Plastic Impact Computations) code in the 1970s and has been the principal developer of this code since then. EPIC is both a research and production code with applications for high-velocity impact and other intense impulsive loading conditions. During the course of his career he has developed numerical algorithms for finite elements, meshless particles, contact and sliding, and automatic conversion of highly distorted elements into meshless particles (which combines the accuracy of finite elements for small distortions and the robustness of meshless particles for large distortions). He has also developed computational constitutive models for metals (Johnson-Cook), concrete (Holmquist-Johnson-Cook), ceramics (Johnson-Holmquist-Beissel), composites (Johnson-Beissel-Cunniff) and glass (Holmquist-Johnson). Some of these models are widely used in the computational community.

George T. (Rusty) Gray III
Winner of the DYMAT 2018 John Rinehart Award

George T. (Rusty) GRAY III is a Laboratory Fellow and staff member in the dynamic properties and constitutive modelling team within the Materials Science Division of Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL). He came to LANL following a three-year visiting scholar position at the Technical University of Hamburg-Harburg in Hamburg, Germany having received his PhD in Materials Science in 1981 from Carnegie-Mellon University. As a staff member (1985-1987) and later team leader (1987-2003) in the Dynamic Materials Properties and Constitutive Modelling Section within the Structure / Property Relations Group (MST-8) at LANL, he has directed a research team working on investigations of the dynamic response of materials. He conducts fundamental, applied, and focused programmatic research on materials and structures, in particular in response to high-strain-rate and shock deformation. His research is focused on experimental and modelling structure/property studies of defect generation, substructure evolution, mechanical behaviour, and dynamic damage-spallation of materials. These constitutive and damage models are utilized in engineering computer codes to support large-scale finite element modelling simulations of structures ranging from national defence (DOE, DoD, DARPA), industry (GM, Ford, Chrysler, and Bettis), foreign object damage, and manufacturing.